Neighbourhoods in Barcelona, Spain.


Descripción de los diferentes sectores de la ciudad de Barcelona, España. Util como guía cuando buscamos alojamiento en esta ciudad por medio de las diferentes paginas webs.

Ciutat Vella

Includes the neighbourhoods of la Barceloneta, el Borne, el Raval and el Barri Gótic. This is the historic city centre, the old town of Barcelona that merged with nearby towns during the 19th and 20th centuries. It’s made up of many small neighbourhoods, full of old-world character, linked by narrow, winding streets. The old town has recently enjoyed an economic revival after many years of decline. Students, foreigners and artists have moved into the area, attracted by its sense of history and cosmopolitan feel, along with its trendy bars, concert halls and good restaurants.


Is where the school is located and includes the following areas: Sant Antoni, Sagrada Família, Fort Pienc, Dreta de l’Eixample and Esquerra de l’Eixample. It is comprised of streets that create a perfect city grid and are filled with every kind of storefront – from designer shops, corporate buildings and markets to eateries from around the world. Eixample is bisected vertically by Passeig de Gràcia, Barcelona’s avenue of high-end designer boutiques, and divided into Eixample Esquerra (Left Enlargement) to the west and Eixample Dreta (Right Enlargement) to the east.


Includes the neighbourhoods of Sants, Hostafrancs, la Bordeta, Poble Sec, Magòria, la Marina, Zona Franca, and Montjuïc. This district is the biggest in Barcelona, with more than 2.090 hectares. It has lots of locally run shops, bars, cafes and restaurants and a genuine Spanish feel. The busy commercial area around Estació Barcelona-Sants features apartment buildings, squares, and a park. The area just north of Gran Vía is the historical centre and the most densely populated area in the district.

Les Corts

Includes the neighbourhoods of el Camp de la Creu-Loreto, el Camp Vell i la Plaça del Centre, Can Feu i Can Batllori, Can Sòl de Baix, l’Església i Can Rosés, la Maternitat i Can Bacardí, la Mercè, Pedralbes, Sant Ramon i la Torre Melina and la Zona Universitària – Bederrida. The neighbourhood is a mixture of commercial activity, university research and residential neighbourhoods. There are many parks and small cafés with terraces. It is a fusion of the contemporary (international corporations, universities, hotels, etc.) and the classic 19th century style that is prevalent in other parts of the city.

Sarrià-Sant Gervasi

Includes the neighbourhoods of Sarrià, Sant Gervasi, Vallvidrera, Can Caralleu, les Planes and Tibidabo. This district is a friendly, upper class residential area made up of quiet, relaxed streets, squares and parks. Sarrià – Sant Gervasi is characterised by several important educational institutions, prestigious medical centres and many conveniently located shops.


Includes the neighbourhoods of Gràcia, Camp d’en Grassot, la Salut, el Coll, Vallcarca and Penitents. Originally an independent and largely working-class village, Gràcia was incorporated into Barcelona in 1897, much to the protest of its residents. Gràcia packs into its relatively small area a surprising number of Modernist buildings and parks, chic shops, and international cuisine. Everything is close, making it very walkable. The area has a diverse mix of people from the solidly middle-class to more bohemian youth, all fitting nicely into a neighbourhood that charms and confuses with its narrow alleys and numerous squares.


Includes the neighbourhoods of Baix Guinardó, Can Baró, el Carmel, Font d’en Fargues, Font del Gos, Guinardó, Horta, la Clota, Montbau, Sant Genís, Taxonera and Vall d’Hebrón. It is located in the northeast of Barcelona and houses eleven heterogeneous neighbourhoods that are relatively independent from each other. Horta-Guinardó includes many important hospitals and parks as well as sports centres and historic neighbourhoods.

Nou Barris

Includes the neighbourhoods of Can Peguera, Canyelles, Ciutat Meridiana, Guineueta, Porta, Prosperitat, Roquetes, Torre Baró, Torre Llobeta, Trinitat Nova, Turó de la Peira, Vallbona, Verdum and Vilapicina. It is situated 15 minutes from Barcelona’s centre and is populated primarily by Spanish people. Many universities are situated in and around this area as well as some parks.

Sant Andreu

Includes the neighbourhoods of Sant Andreu de Palomar, Sagrera, Trinitat Vella, Baró de Viver, Bon Pastor, Navas, and Congrés. The oldest neighbourhood, Sant Andreu, was a town added to the city in the late 14th century. Sant Andreu encourages new business activity while respecting the important industrial tradition of its historical beginnings.

Sant Martí

Includes the neighbourhoods of el Clot, Camp de l’Arpa, la Verneda, Poblenou, Besòs, Diagonal Mar and Vila Olímpica. It’s the second biggest neighbourhood of the city population wise and is where most beaches are located, since part of the neighbourhood touches the coast. It is known as a middle class neighbourhood with many commercial areas, parks and entertainment.

Deja una respuesta